A note from my instructor, John Post…

John was kind enough to write a note to post here on the blog… what a pleasure it has been working with someone so dedicated to aviation, safety and the joy of learning.

I wanted to let you all know how well Amelia has done with her instrument training.  On this blog, you get to see all the fun flights and places we go, but what you don’t see is the studying and preparation that goes into each lesson.  We were on a condensed schedule of two weeks due to my new job, and quite honestly Amelia has gone above and beyond all expectations. As most of you know, she is very involved in her profession as well as community events. This does not leave nearly enough time for most people to take on the full-time instrument student role. The amount of passion, dedication and effort she has put into this training is something I have never seen before. This and her patience and willingness to learn allowed her to progress through her training at not only a record pace, but also at a very high level of performance. As pilots, we are evaluated based on strict standards which require near perfect flying abilities. Amelia has gone through this training well within those standards in every subject. I have lots of respect for her dedication to getting this rating and chasing her dream of flying around the world, and I wanted to share with you all how impressed and proud I am of Amelia.

We are finished with all of the flight lessons and are now concentrating on the knowledge required for a written test as well as an oral evaluation.  While I am in training, Amelia will continue to fly on her own as well as prep for these tests until I return in a couple of weeks. Once I return, we will make final preparations for the checkride and Amelia will finally be an instrument pilot and one big step closer to her goal.

John Post

4 thoughts on “A note from my instructor, John Post…

  1. Cool great to hear, got a hint for instrument rating while doing partial panel.

    I don’t think they teach enough and the usefulness of timed turns. Something that I teach all of my students and future CFII’s is that when you calculate timed turns, do not calculate it in your head but use your DG as a guide. For example you are flying 090 and want to turn to a heading of 120. On most DG’s these are clearly marked with a big tick mark and with the numbers show. By calculating we all know its 10 seconds at a standard rate turn or by looking at your DG every number shown is 10 seconds. Then every big tick mark between the numbers is about 3-4 seconds. Then of course if we r doing small corrections such as doing and ILS approach then we use half standard rate so if we want to turn 10 degrees then we just double the 3-4 seconds by 2 or if we do 5 degrees correction at half standard rate, then we know it goes back to 3-4 seconds at a half standard rate turn.

    I hope this helps explain things, I am writing this while doing a night shift at my other job so if I am not clear pls let me know and I will retype this reply when I am more attentive. Also, if you post a close up still picture of the glass PFD on this blog, I will post a reply to help understand the concept a little better.

    Regards

    Jim

  2. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

