Ditch hindsight! Instead, let’s sharpen our foresight…

Day 2 of a month of inspiration!

Isn’t it great when inspiration falls into your lap? After completing my Synoptic Meteorology lab and heading home for a walk along the Cherry Creek path with the coolest dog ever, I heard the familiar, tiny, little “ding” on my iPhone. Email has been a source of great connection lately, bringing amazing and generous people into my life… so of course I checked it. Robbi Guiterrez from 9News had just sent a message about an “amazing non-profit” that teaches kids, families and adults how to achieve success. Well, that’s simple enough, right? I had to look further. The name, The Go For It Institute was enough to capture my attention.

When I visited www.goforitinstitute.com I instantly realized that this was the perfect organization to show off in my month of inspiration here on the blog! What is cool about this concept is that it is not about a quick fix to a lack of motivation. It is based on hard work, and seemingly forgotten art of getting your hands dirty and getting the work done to achieve your goals…

It seems simple, it seems instinctual, some would even call it easy. I invite you to sit for a moment and consider the list below… are you rocking these 7 keys within your biggest goals? I certainly saw a few areas within my life where I can improve! Sometimes it is the simple stuff that can really bring you back to basics and cut out the need for a quick fix to a solution. The best part is, this group wants to instill these goals in children and teens… think about what a gift it would be, growing up with a solid understanding that everything is possible! People always say that hindsight is 20/20… well let’s work a little harder to sharpen our foresight! This can be done by using our own experiences and understanding of the world and sharing it with those who look to us for inspiration and empowerment.

Here is an excerpt from www.goforitinstitute.com

The GO FOR IT! Institute has developed several training programs based on our unique and proven curriculum —The Seven Keys To Success:

  • KEY 1: I Have a Positive Attitude! Learn what attitude is; what aspects of your life are controlled or directed by your attitude; how to determine your attitude at any given moment; specific strategies to make a positive attitude a permanent habit in your life.

  • KEY 2: I Believe in Myself! Understand the nature of human potential through a simple process of identifying your personal talents and abilities; developing academic strengths and personal interests to create personal fulfillment and economic opportunities for your future.

  • KEY 3: I Build Positive Habits! Understand the process of how habits are created; learn to identify and remove self-defeating habits; create habits that will make all aspects of your life easier and more successful.

  • KEY 4: I Make Wise Choices! Learn the dramatic relationship between any current circumstances in your life and the choices that created these; develop a personal proactive plan for desired outcomes through conscious, wise choices.

  • KEY 5: I Set and Achieve Goals! Recognize the difference between a wish and a goal; make a commitment, plan and take action; recognize completion.

  • KEY 6: I Use My Creative Imagination! Learn to adapt a technique professional athletes use to extend their physical ability, to accelerate problem solving and goal achievement in all areas of your life.

  • KEY 7: I Am Persistent! Track progress; develop the focus and determination required to succeed; create an attitude of gratitude as the access to fulfilling your dreams, link the Seven Keys to Success together in everyday life.

Thanks Go For It Institute for breaking it down to what matters most!

While you’re at it… enjoy some groove that matches the mood of this post!

3 thoughts on “Ditch hindsight! Instead, let’s sharpen our foresight…

    • Mitch-

      I have to thank you for the link to Lane’s blog… what a joy it has been reading her notes and musings on life as an adventurer. I was totally inspired to write the blog about her and I am sure it will lead to much more in the future. Thank you!

      AE

  1. Hi Amelia,

    Totally unrelated to this post… but, did you catch the question I asked on an older post about your route from Oakland to Miami?

    I was curious which airport you were planning to use in New Orleans. Was New Orleans a stop for Amelia on her 1937 flight? If so, it would have been New Orlean’s Lakefront Airport and not Louis Armstrong. (KMSY).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lakefront_Airport

    Sorry to post the unrelated comment here… But, if you’re trying to recreate the exact legs she flew, I figured you’d want to know.

    - Brian

Leave a Reply

