With skyscapes painted on the tops of our wings…

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but in seeing with new eyes.”
― Marcel Proust

Every pilot I meet seems to want to put into words the vigor and excitement that flying brings to the table. Photos, words, videos… all of these options come close to personifying our need to soar into the big ole blue sky, but there was always something missing. Until now. I am excited to share the videos that we took today during our Christmas flight in the Cirrus SR22. We mounted N Flight Cams on the left wingtip, the belly of the plane, the vertical stabilizer, and the interior of the plane and this is what we got. I am still just learning how to use these cams, but all in all, they are looking AMAZING! I feel like I am strapped to the outside of the aircraft when I watch this footage. Exciting stuff!

We leave tomorrow morning and wow am I tired… Must get some sleep before it is time to kick this adventure off! I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and I can’t wait to connect with all of you throughout the week!

10 thoughts on “With skyscapes painted on the tops of our wings…

  1. From one Cirrus pilot to another, good luck! Weather looks great for the trip. And you’re flying the perfect plane for the voyage. I have to admit I’m slightly jealous. Have fun!

  2. Amelia-
    Congrats. I know sleep doesn’t come easy before flights like these. Thanks for being an inspiration for other pilots, it is great to see people doing what you are doing. Keep an hourly journal- really, you’ll kick yourself later if you don’t. Fly safe, have fun and keep going…
    Dan

  3. Good Morning Amelia,
    Just listened to your radio communication with Centennial regarding your IFR clearance. I can sympathize with you on trying to get everything read back correctly. As my instructor tells me – keep after it and it will all come together. Looks like you have a beautiful sunrise accompanying your take-off. Have a safe flight.

  4. Good luck Amelia! How did you get the NFlight Cameras mounted on the tail, wing, and belly? Who makes the mounts? I assume they are adhesive? Have a great flight.

  5. Amelia –
    What awesome footage and I can’t wait to watch it from the different cities you will be visiting.
    Thank you for being such an example to anyone, pilot or not, on the value of focus and determination. You have lesson after lesson throughout your blog and I personally look forward to your next post!
    Godspeed –
    JH

  6. ou have a good plane but I question if it has enough range for round the world flight !!!! King Air 250 would be much better so far as range is concerned.!!!!

  7. God bless you,Ms.Amelia and your co-pilot. Have lots of fun,lots of experiences…….WE ,WHO LIVE THROUGH YOUR EXPERIENCES ARE LOOKING FORWARD……….May the wind be beneath your wings. HAVE FUN!!!!

  8. Got to see you takeoff this morning. It just gave me goosebumps. What a thrill. I’m sure you’ve landed by now and busy checking every thing for tomorrow. My thoughts are with you so many times during the day wondering where you are, how are you doing, is the weather nice etc etc. Have a wonderful flight. Hope we get to see you tomorrow morning

Leave a Reply

