My biggest fan came for a visit in Burbank

Day 2: Oakland to Burbank

Within all of us is a varying amount of space lint and star-dust, the residue from our creation. Most are too busy to notice it, and it is stronger in some than others. It is strongest in those of us who fly and is responsible for an unconscious, subtle desire to slip into some wings and try for the elusive boundaries of our origin. K O Eckland, ‘Footprints On Clouds.’

We woke in Oakland, CA to a bank of fog that keep many a pilot on the ground. Rather than taking off at 6am and heading straight to Burbank, we waited until 9 am to head to the airport when the fog cleared. We thanked the crew at Attitude Aviation for their hangar space and gracious hospitality. With a cliff bar in hand, we climbed in the plane and started a cold engine. We decided to fly VFR to Santa Barbara in order to turn on the exterior N Flight Cams on the plane so that we could fly low-level on the coastal route towards Burbank. Haze, ocean waves and some good music flooded our surroundings as we crusied at 1,500 feet above the water. Check out the take-off video from KSBA.

When we arrived in busy Burbank, we dodged other small aircraft over the San Fernando Valley and parked at a small FBO on the West side of the runway. A quick lunch and a facebook status update about a safe landing meant it was time to meet with Jessica Ambats of Plane & Pilot Magazine about an interview for the inspiration issue of the aviation mag. We told flying stories, laughed about cockpit conversations and talked about what a thrill it is to take part in a real life adventure. Jessica arrived by plane from Santa Monica Airport, which added to the romance of this meet up.

Burbank is where Amelia did much of her flight training in the 1930′s. There are photos, sculptures, street names and parks in her honor through Burbank and also North Hollywood. We checked out the bronze sculpture of her on Tujunga just of the 5 Freeway… Amelia stands tall, flight jacket and propeller always nearby.

The flight was amazing, the views spectacular, but the best part of the day was seeing my Mom, who drove in from San Diego to cheer us on and have a relaxing dinner. As she crawled in the plane, she asked lots of safety related Mom questions, but she also told me that she loves seeing me happy, adventurous and spending lots of time in the plane. She beamed as we went over GPS buttons, auto pilot settings, the PFD and the headsets. My Mom gets what I mean when I tell her that this is what I must do. Thank you Mom, for instilling in me a desire to soar.

9 thoughts on “My biggest fan came for a visit in Burbank

  1. I just now ran across your website and was excited to read about your coming journey! Totally awesome! I have been a GA Pilot for 24 years and I can only imagine your excitement! I have flown a few Cirrus aircraft as well and that is one sweet ride! And to top it off, I have always been a big fan of the first Amelia Earhart and can’t wait to follow your adventure!

  2. Hi Amelia,

    While we haven’t met, I am inspired by your passion for aviation. Like you, I come from a family of aviators, though not as well known as yours. I understand your burning desire to fly and commend you on your efforts. About 12 years ago, my father retired from a lengthy career at TWA. I wrote a short article in AvWeb about the retirement flight that I thought you might enjoy:

    http://www.avweb.com/news/skywrite/184423-1.html

    Coincidentally, I used to flight instruct at KAPA. I’m looking forward to reading more about your travels in your blog.

    Have a great trip,

    Paul Schiff

  3. Amelia, great to see that you got to see your mom. Great comments about star dust and space lint, all your particles must have 99% adventure. Keep letting us know what is going on, the blog has been great, safe travels.

  4. Congrats Amelia… You are doing a great job and God Speed…I thought I was your biggest fan… Just joking… I am an 82 year old man who has been married to the same woman for 61 plus years… I am a retiree from the USAF, and although I was not an avaitor, I was at heart…. I am trying to encourage my grandson to get his pilots license… His dad bought him all the books to study so that he can get his…. Go Amelia. Looking forward to your videos and blogs….

  5. You MOM SHOULD BE VERY PROUD OF YOU…..If I were your Mom,I would really be on”cloud nine”. Just stay as sweet and inquisitive as you are now……SOAR WITH THE BIRDS!! We are all watching!!

  6. Miss You on the news but love your flight (s) and what you are doing. You are to Young to be the same Amelia Eahart that flew with Al Verlay on Sky 9. Who was that? Do You give lessons?

    Wes

  7. Amelia,
    I have really enjoyed following your adventures! You are amazing! I am so glad that you came back to Denver after your stint in California. Your travels in the last few weeks have been so exciting! Awesome adventure! Please enter me three times in your blog contest!
    Glenda

Leave a Reply

