Oakland to Miami: The adventure begins…

Amelia Earhart said, “the most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity. The fears are paper tigers. You can do anything you decide to do. You can act to change and control your life; and the procedure , the process is its own reward”

It is with her sprit and verve as inspiration that I venture on my first real aviation journey. As I complete my instrument training, I feel as if one goal is near completion so it is time to begin another. I am planning my first trip in honor of Amelia’s courageous spirt and the contributions that she made to aviation. Before year’s end 2011, I will fly the North American legs of Amelia’s round the world flight (as closely as possible, taking fuel requirements into account). I will depart from Oakland, CA, continue on through Burbank, CA, Tucson, AZ, Austin, TX, New Orleans, LA and finish in Miami, FL. I will be accompanied by a co-pilot who is intimately familiar with the Cirrus aircraft. This trip will be sheer experience, time spent in the plane. Safety will, of course, be at the forefront of this flight and it will be a real world flight experience. Part of this process will include asking for help from sponsors, other aviators, and my family for support. The planning is half the fun of the experience!

No records will be broken, no big deal will be made. I want to do it because it feels like the right thing to do. I am constantly driven by an innate desire to try new things, to never stop learning, to challenge my fears and to chase the rush of passion and inspiration.

I can feel the adventure beginning… and it feels like joy pulsing through my veins.

6 thoughts on “Oakland to Miami: The adventure begins…

  1. You Go Girl… I am praying that all your adventures will be a huge success. I think your parents are very proud of you…I am proud to be a friend, Ed Bowles

  2. Thats cool, when do you plan on making the flight and will the 9 news be there cause there are a couple of people that i know who are in Denver n maybe I can say hi to them?

Leave a Reply

