Boundless beauty: A flight from Denver to Telluride

“The more one does and sees and feels, the more one is able to do, and the more genuine may be one’s appreciation of fundamental things like home, and love, and understanding companionship.” Amelia Earhart

On December 10th, 2011 John and I flew from KAPA to KTEX, the highest commercial airport in the country. With gorgeous bright blue skies, calm winds and the Cirrus SR22, we flew South West to my favorite town. I took these photos with my Nikon D200 from the front seat of the plane. These photos do not even begin to capture what it feels like to fly this route… not only are the views jaw-droppingly amazing, but you really get the feeling of being in the wild, surrounded by 14,000 foot peaks, rugged terrain and the sheer beauty of Colorado.

14 thoughts on “Boundless beauty: A flight from Denver to Telluride

  1. Great shots, Amelia! As an avid mountaineer/outdoorsman it is really cool to see all those places from the air. The Uncompahgre shots reminded me of a flight my uncle took me on in his little experimental (if Lotus made an airplane, this would be it) out of Montorose. Amazing. Thanks for the pics! Hope you enjoyed that landing in my little town over here in San Juans, it used to be a lot worse with a nice dip in the middle 🙂

  2. Amazing! I love reading of your aerial adventures. Thank you for inspiring other young women to spread their wings and pursue their passions! Love.

  3. Great photos.

    My first captain trip at a fractional included my first flight into TEX. I’ve been several times since, but I will always remember that first approach and landing. (Pilots rarely admit being nervous… so, I’ll just say all my senses were elevated that morning!)

    To get the full effect, try circling and landing on 27. I have a friend who landed 27 in a Citation due to winds. He circled, landed, and was promptly met by a ramp worker armed with a handful of noise abatement pamphlets. 🙂

    Been into ASE yet?

  4. These photos are amazing!

    You’ve inspired me to – at the very least – start looking at flight schools around the Bay Area. I flew in the summers when I was age 14-16 but when I found out I was too colorblind to be a commercial pilot (and then later grew to 6’5″ so too tall for most airlines!) I stopped flying. Now circumstances have changed and it may be possible that I will be able to afford to get my PPL as well as support some cross country flights every year.

    Glad I stumbled on your blog a month or so ago. Keep the photos coming!

    • Spencer… this makes me so happy! You should absolutely look into flying. Take a discovery flight sometime! It is less expensive and will just get you excited about getting up in the air. Keep me posted on your progress!

      • I wasn’t far off my solo back then, so hopefully I’ll be able to jump right back in. In the meantime I think I’ll book one of those Sausalito / San Francisco seaplane rides to get really excited! I’ll keep you updated.

        I’ll tune my scanner to try to pick you up on the 27th – I thought I’d catch you on the 26th on Oakland Center but we’ll be in SoCal.

  5. Hy Amelia, you´re my inspiration! I am a simer pilot, so I took your flight and made nearly the same in my Microsoft Flight Simulator. To discover a for me, I am from Munich, unknown area is always exciting! The high montains are a little bit like the alps in europe. With your geat pictures, I could imagine the feeling of the flight. In the near of Telluride, I crashed my virtual plane in the very high!!! montains, it was the wrong route. The second try was succesfull und I landes savely! What a wonderfull evening in Colorado, ….. in my home 🙂
    Keep on with your flights, I will follow them!
    Greetings from Munich, Christian

Leave a Reply

