What are you resisting? It could be the thing you crave the most…

Big accomplishments are HARD work! I am not telling you anything new, but sometimes it feels good to say it out LOUD! If these things we are working towards were easy, everyone would be rockin’ it, but let’s face it… they’re not. My friend Tripp Lanier is the host of The New Man Podcast and he interviewed Steven Pressfield, author of The War of Art. This interview was made for those of us who are searching for why we sometimes avoid the things that we love the most. I promise… if you are working towards ANY sort of goal, you will get it. Here’s my take on why I am a procrastinating fool lately when it comes to my instrument check ride. At the end of the video, I make a promise and also issue a little challenge…

Here are some wonderful quotes from the book…

The opposite of love isn’t hate; it’s indifference. Steven Pressfield

Resistance cannot be seen, touched, heard, or smelled. But it can be felt. We experince it as an energy field radiating from a work-in-potential… Its aim is to shove us away, distract us, prevent us from doing our work. Steven Pressfield

The more you love your art/ calling/ enterprise, the more important its accomplishment to the evolution of your soul, the more you will fear it and the more Resistance you will experience facing it. Steven Pressfield

The counterfeit innovator is wildly self-confident. The real one is scared to death. Steven Pressfield

21 thoughts on “What are you resisting? It could be the thing you crave the most…

  1. Hi Amelia! Your blog about resistance comes at a very appropriate time in my life, as I am working on my graduate dissertation in historical archaeology. Even though the deadline is just a few short weeks away, my level of procrastination and well, resistance, is very high. This is all despite the fact that I want more than anything to be done with it and move on to opportunities where I can put to use the last two year of school craziness that I have gotten through. I have been a bit confused about why I am so eager to distract from finishing something that I want to be done with, and so your blog definitely spoke to me. I will also try and find some time to listen to the podcast you mentioned as well. I hope all goes well with you written test. Good luck!

  2. Hey Amelia,
    Thanks for the challenge. I’m working on growing a voiceover career. It’s grown every year, but this year is a make or break one for going full time. Your challenge is enough to push me over the top and get to making cold calls, as well as being more intentional and consistent with other marketing efforts.

    Thanks again.

  3. You really need to read Pressfield’s book “Gates of Fire” about the Spartans – its an amazing read. Wars Change, Warriors Don’t.

  4. FYI, this is one of the best vid blogs you’ve ever done, here or on FB. IMHO. Go get ’em this week – you definitely have on your “happy warrior” face, I hope you get joy from battling toward your goal!

  5. I know the feeling of resistance. I felt it at 30 when I started my aviation career with a wife and two children and no promise of a future. I’ve now passed the 30 year mark of flying with more than 8,000 hrs. of going places most folks just dream about. And I recently finished my first novel and entered it in a contest. It made it to the final five. On Feb. 16, in Denver, the winner will be announced. I’ll be there–against all the resistance. Keep it up, young lady. You can do this.

  6. Thanks Amelia! I’ve always been feeling the huge resistances before exams and couldn’t understand why that happened to me when I was preparing for something I love. This blog couldn’t come to me at a better time because I’m taking my checkride this weekend and I definitely want to review the ground school materials a few more times:)

  7. Relax, kiddo. You going to get your instrument rating. Make no mistake it is a very challenging rating, but you WILL get it. Try not to get hung up on this first attempt. Afterall, does it really matter if you pass on the first try? The third? The tenth? NO! What matters is that you get it, and you will!

    Cheers
    J

  8. Hi Amelia!!!!!!!!!!
    I am so glad I watched this today…you are absolutely right, it is so easy to put things off or find the time to do other things such as gym or cleaning (which we all know is no fun and no rational adult looks forward to) rather than finding the time to accomplish your current goal that you have set out for yourself. I set out two main goals for myself years ago. 1st to become extremely good looking, check and 2nd to become a fire chief…I have been putting my training and course work off for a long time now. first it was to take a break for the holidays, then if was to watch my Broncos make a fun run for the super bowl and a few naps every now and then. Your video was just the kick in the butt I need to let me know that Im not the only one that gets distracted and faces resisting every now and then.

    Have fun and stay safe
    Colin

  9. This is a GREAT post. Thanks for sharing, and the challenge – the quote on love/fear/resistance is spot on, and articulates my own feelings toward flying, and completing my own checkrides.

  10. Hi Amelia, Your story and plans are really great and nice to hear about. Keep up your good plans!
    I remember reding about the other Amelia’s trip and have been fascinated with that also. As for the time you start your trip I assume that you will get world weather conditions as pre-planning of the start date so that weather will be OK for the trip. Looking forward to watching your reports.

    Wayne Williams

  11. Hi Amelia!

    Keep pushing for the instrument rating! When I look back on what I’ve accomplished so far in aviation, the instrument rating was by far the most difficult, yet the most rewarding experience so far! I didn’t appreciate fully until my first single pilot IFR flight, from Metro to Pueblo. I was flying at 10,000 feet over CO Springs. The top of the overcast layer was 9,000, and clear above. I’ll never forget looking to the west and seeing Pikes Peak poking up through the clouds! It was a sight I’ll never forget, and there is nowhere else I could have seen that except in an airplane!

    Good luck on the written and checkride! Now, if I can only stop procrastinating on studying for the CFI written… 🙂

    -Brian

  12. HI Amelia

    Luv following your posts. I’am sure you will do great on the written and Practicle instrument tests. You have a great attitude to help be well prepair you for these tests. Good preperation equals good performce. Also I tell my students to look at the flight test as a oppertunity to learn of any short cummings in the training prossess that prepaired them for the checkride not as a failure of the themselves. This attitude seems to relieve some tension before the test. Feel free to e-mail me any instrument questions that you may have. Happy to help any time.

    Regards Rick CFII/MEI KBJC

  13. Philippians 4:6-7 NIV

    Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

  14. Well Amelia, I am at the exact same stage. I have got to pass the written in order to take the instrument check ride. I studied hard over Christmas break, but did not get up to the level I wanted, then work got in the way and I haven’t studied for a couple of weeks. I want to get the CFI and multi, so I need to get it done. I don’t know that I am resisting it, but is seems that there are some many things getting in the way, and as you know, you nearly have to drop everything else to get it done.

  15. Wow, how inspiring! Thank you for this post. Good luck with your test. I am going to research Mr Pressfield’s advice some more.

  16. This post has hit me smack in the face. I ve been less than 10 pages from finishing my 1st screenplay for months now. Even though I ve received nothing but positive feedback in regards to the synopsis that people have seen, I ve been terrified to complete it and have it receive less than stellar reactions. Thanks for the thoughts, and right after work I am going to head down to The Tattered Cover and grab that Pressfield book!!!!!

  17. You wanna know what I get to do this week? I get to teach a recurrent groundschool with 2 FAA guys in it…..yippie cuy yai yea.

    I think everybody’s been in your shoes a few times in their life. I sure have. It’s tough to get that initial “push” of motivation to get you started, but once you find that motivator….things happen quick.

    Something that may help your studying habits for the instrument written is: Start with something you are interested in, or are really sharp at (ie. meteorology, navigation, etc). Don’t start with the boring stuff. That’ll only give you a reason to de-motivate.

    As Leslie Neilson said on the movie “Airplane”…..”I just wanted to say Good Luck, and we’re all counting on you”.

  18. Hi Amelia,

    I’m currently working on my helicopter ratings and for me the instrument was reletively easy… And the commercial. Where I’ve run into “resistance” is my CFI. I think part of it was that I’ve said all along that I wanted to become a commercial helicopter pilot. And, technically, when I passed my commercial check ride, I did. =)

    The CFI and CFII is above and beyond my origonal stated goal. It’s something I needed, not necessarily something I wanted so I’ve just been letting it slide. It’s time to redefine my goals and get back to the task at hand.

    As for your instrument work, you’ll get it done. I had to laugh the day of my checkride because it was the ONLY calm day (3mph winds) of all the time I was working on my instrument rating. Made it REAL easy to shoot the aproaches and execute the holds and procedure turns easily. =)

    Mike

  19. Hi Amelia, thank you very much for your advice on your video you give me nore energy that I can go back to the written test again to pass it because I couldn’t pass at first time and I got afraid to take the second chance but now I’m studying more to go back for another try.
    by the way I am so glad that I see you every day on 9 news.

  20. Awesome video & writing! If someone can’t appreciate what you are putting out here then too bad, their loss! Not cheesey at all, just feelings from the heart that are wonderful. You are an amazing person. Thank you for sharing that with all of us and allowing us to share back with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

