The risky joy of making ALIVE choices

This or that, now or later, sleep in or wake up, engage or escape, pout or fix, criticize or empower, blame or take responsibility, try… or don’t.

Without placing a value judgement on which of these choices is better than its counterpart, I think we can all agree that one is more active than the other. Making active choices means that a shift is taking place and that we are moving, questions are being raised, and there is a tasty little dash of discomfort in the unknown. Right now, I am talking about the little things… Do you always have to be changing the world? Nope. Are you responsible for always growing, developing and engaging in YOUR world? You betcha.

Saying yes to just about anything (positive, learning, growth oriented stuff) has become a new way of life for me. Meet with a friend to discuss an idea they are excited about? Sure! Work the weekend shift at 9News because it is an opportunity to forecast the weather while I work on my meteorology degree? Let’s go. Brainstorm about an idea that everyone else thinks is crazy? Let’s see where it leads. Some are big, some are small, but the common thread is that each one takes a little effort and for you to let go of the “nope, not gonna do it” feeling that your plan is being altered. From the people you meet, the ideas that are sparked, and the skin that is grown thick from being a little daring, you will see that it feels darn good to make the active decision to be a little edgy.

These choices are more than just active. They are ALIVE.

Words aren’t doing this one judgement. I am going to make the more alive choice right now and make a video so I can explore a little more about what this means to me. Standby!

Here’s the song I was rockin’ out to while contemplating Alive choices… pay attention to the line…

“Happiness, hit her like a train on a track
Coming towards her, stuck still no turning back”

Just  a thought… 😉

31 thoughts on “The risky joy of making ALIVE choices

  1. “A little cheesy” maybe, but you bring up a lot of good points! All I can say is keep up the good work! You display an incrediable amount of wisdom for someone so young!

  2. Great post! I couldn’t agree with you more. I like watching your blogs because your inspiring to me. I heard a good quote the other day ” In 20 years you will be more disappointed in what you didn’t do than by what you did”. Keep it up and thanks

  3. How dare you ask people to engage themselves! Lol. Honestly, that was exellent, and I think that it applies to everyone. Even the most motivated or “Alive” people need reminded that you have to go out and make the “Alive decisions”, and not wait for someone else to do it. People who truly take what you have said here and run with it today, tomorrow, and forever, will be the people who will be responsible for things like a better economy, a more self sustaining America, and a better tomorrow! May God bless you Amelia, and God bless America!

  4. It’s not cheesy if it’s how you feel and it’s real IMHO. I think your points are “dead” on (opposite pun intended – sorry as I typed the word it hit me). What’s amazing is just yesterday in a seminar/all day training event I was attending, the speaker talked about keeping your head up when walking by strangers and how much better a choice of even just smiling as you walk by is for both parties! Thanks for the being real and yourself Amelia – love the smile!

  5. Don’t take the cheesy comment to heart. You are very good writer and I certainly enjoy that your sharing your passion via video. I like your cheesiness!!

    Thank you.

  6. I wake at 4:15 am 5 days a week without fail and go to work. Today…although I maybe could have gotten over it, I decided to stay home because of a lack of sleep…2 hours tops, a raging headache and because of what was keeping me awake. I’ve decided to take some time to deal with what was making me stress all night long instead of ignore and continue to worry. Feels very weird for me to not go in to work. I know on one hand it seems to go against what you mentioned in your v-blog, but then again dealing with something…taking a stance on it, even if I have to take personal time to do it…maybe it is doing the alive thing. And with this particular thing, considering it’s been a thorn in my side for so many years, I guess I need to stay vigilant.

    Anyway, nice blog…it makes sense. 😉

  7. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Amelia! You truly are an inspiration to this young at heart “50 something year old”. Keep up the writing, blogging, (flying, of course) and sharing of your life and aspirations.

  8. Amelia, this morning I walked in our kitchen and Harper was at the computer watching your blog. I listened for a minute while preparing to get her off to school. You talked about your friend Scott and how he stopped and shared with the children and it immediately reminded me of what you did for Harper when you came back to CO. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with all of us….what a great way for Harper to start her week~getting a little inspiration from a really good person. Thanks 🙂

  9. You are so gorgeous and intelligent and I REALLY ENJOY your blogs!!! Keep up the good work! You go girl! They are NOT cheezy! I understand you and feel you and where you are coming from! I really enjoy reading every one of your blogs and especially watching your videos and seeing your pretty face and those beautiful eyes! Keep it up! Don’t stop! You are getting through to me at least! Kent

  10. I love cheese. To live is to be alive. How many of us go through our routines
    and do not fully live. Many of the war letters you mention address the very
    essence of life, and they themselves are the result of an active (alive) choice.
    Some would think of them as cheesy, but not to those who are actively involved
    in the battle. And look at how they have influenced others beyond their original
    intention. Keep it up and many thanks.

  11. I think you are a very inspirational person Amelia. I enjoy the blogs because it makes me think about my actions as an adult. You would think us adults have all the answers, but we don’t. I look for advice on a regular basis and ways to make me feel better as a person. listening to your blogs keeps my mind active. I like the analogy of walking down the street with your head down. I am the kind of person that walks with it held high and saying hello to people I don’t know. Keep up the great work.

  12. I really appreciate your blog. I came across it just last month and it totally motivates and inspires me for flying again very soon!! By the way, for a pretty rockin version of Dog Days, check out Pentatonix on youtube (they were the winner on the show The Sing Off last fall)

  13. Thank you so much for your blogs. They are definitlely not cheesy. They are inspirational and really make you think about what can I do too be more alive as you put it.

  14. Great post (as usual). I’m coming out of my shell and getting into the social network even though it feels awkward. Don’t change, this is you being you and it sets a great example. You’ve helped at least one person today (I suspect the number is a lot higher than one though).

  15. Came for the flight, stayed for the cheese…

    I began following your blog recently after becoming intrigued by your aspirations of an around the world flight. I’m pleased that your blog is not all about flying for variety is the spice of life. To refer to the non-flight portions of your blog as cheesey…well, I think that’s a little superficial. I think you have some rather intellectual things to say and am impressed by your wisdom. Some of your posts are so thought provoking that I’m reminded of all those philosophy classes I took in college. Your latest entry is one of the most moving of them all. When I look back on life I see that when I was younger I was ALIVE. At some point, and I can’t even pinpoint when or what caused it, I went from living to just surviving. Your blog has been a well deserved kick in the butt and I can’t thank you enough. I feel like going to my window, opening it, and screaming “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore!”. I can’t believe all the years I have wasted by “playing it safe”. What a bunch of crap! Playing it safe is just a euphemism for hiding from life. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating irresponsibility. A person can be ALIVE and have integrity. It’s time to become that person that I once was. It’s time to carpe diem, for tomorrow is promised to no one.

    I have to go now. There’s living to be done.

  16. Your words constantly make me think….. You ought to compile all of your thoughts and reflections and put them in a book. I would sure enough buy it! Thanks Alpha Romeo!

  17. Good Morning.
    I’ve been following your blog since a pilot co-worker of mine mentioned it a few months ago. He highlighted it during a business discussion we were having about the impact that considered and

  18. continued..
    … and well spoken people can have in this medium. While that has been evidenced over and over in the public action realm, it is refreshing and energizing to see it applied to personal growth where there isn’t a “for profit” motive attached.

    Thank you for your energy and motivation!

  19. Amelia

    Like so many others that comment here, I believe your comments are most thoughtful and genuine. Cheesy does not fit your thoughtfulness. I suspect the original “cheesy” remark came from someone uncomfortable with your introspection and sharing because it is something that they are unable to do. What is remarkable about your blog is the absolute genuineness that you convey. In social media and other media, we rarely get to see the real person. Everything that you produce seems to be from your heart. It is refreshing and appreciated. Thanks for your service to you readers and listeners.

  20. Amelia,

    What you post here and say in your actions are the farthest thing from cheese. If somebody wants to classify what you say as cheese that is their personal choice (and frankly their loss) On the flip side who can say no to a big pile of nachos slathered in….cheese. A nice slab of chedder on their….cheeseburger. Some nice chunks of real bleu….cheese in their salad. I specifically visit your site for the wonderful upbeat insights that you post and the sunshine that you help bring. Often times those who are the most critical are the ones most in need of what is being said.

    “We may encounter many defeats in our life but we must not be defeated. When in fact it may be necessary to encounter defeat so we can know who the hell we are and what we can overcome. What makes us stumble and fall some how miraculously binds us and makes us go on.” LTJ Bukem.

    I would love to carry the discussion further off line so I don’t fill up all of your blog. Long story short…Keep doing what you are doing and don’t change a thing.

  21. You’re such a vibrant, upbeat and confident young woman. I very much enjoy following your blogs and your….. more boundaried…..TV reports. The most remarkable quality I see you present is that…..you “engage” people. This recent blog is a PRIMO example of that quality in full tilt! You’re able to craft your words, gestures and voice into such a form that your passions become contagious. Truly……you have a gift. The moment you hit “send” on this blog, you underscored your ambition to make an “alive choice.” Keep making them and sharing them. You ARE making a difference. As Simon and Garfunkle beautifully harmonized in “Bridge Over Troubled Water,”……..”Sail on silver Girl. Sail on by. Your time has come…to shine…..all your dreams are on their way.” Great job Amelia, and continued safe sailing. Blessings.

  22. Great post! Making Alive decisions is awesome and I’ve started doing this over the past 30 days. Actually right in the middle of watching the video I paused it, sent several email I had been putting off and made a phone call to someone close to me who I am really working on a more positive relationship with.

    Thank you…sometimes I just need that push.

  23. All good points and reminders! I run into the same conflict of emotions with my own blog (ThoughtsOnTheRun.com) of feeling cheesy. However, it’s how I think and we all need to be reminded to look up once and awhile to notice the world around us. If we don’t take action, then we can’t expect change …

    As I run ultramarathons, I remind myself:
    We need to look at how far we’ve come and not how far we have to go.

    If we are always dreading the next “thing” then we miss what is right in front of us.

    Keep posting!

  24. Wonderful advice, Amelia. I made the mistake of making a DEAD choice in a college major. I recently finished it (kicking and screaming) and have decided to go back to school for my true passion: music. I do feel more alive knowing that I’m moving toward what really engages and challenges me, not what others think I should do. Besides, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with being unique. Being a violinist isn’t exactly the most conventional job, but it will make me feel more ALIVE, and I would much rather have that than the extra money.

    I recently discovered your blog and I think it’s very inspiring and interesting! I’ll be checking back.

Leave a Reply

