Live it up and lean into what you love

Today is Easter- it was one of those sunny days in Denver filled with exquisite lighting, happy people, and the warming beams of that pre-summer goodness that reminds you to take a deep breath and love this moment. I hope you lived it up today, leaning into what you love. I don’t think I have laughed as much as I did today, in many years. Today will be marked by belly laughs, genuine smiles and yummy food.

It has been a while since my last post! Why did I wait so long? Well, I vowed never to force the blog. It flows when it flows and it slows when it slows. Faking the fun and the freedom of this place of expression goes against the whole idea of encouraging the interesting & juicy stuff. Here’s a little update on the flight for this summer. Planning, organization, airplanes, business plans, and nerves have exploded all over my iPad. Compared to the Oakland to Miami flight… ha… well, I will just call it complicated. I take advice from every source I can squeeze it from. I have an enormous amount of respect for those of you who have pulled something like this off. When things get tough and I want to quit (which has happened more times than I can count) I just think about what it will feel like when I complete my first ocean crossing. To see the glistening sea beneath the plane, to know that my goals are in my hands, that will be the best feeling in the world. The prep work for this kind of trip is almost just as tough as the flying! I am STILL working towards my instrument check ride (I need to take my own advice, I know!) and am working in the studying for the written exam as much as humanly possible between the tv station, meteorology school (finally a senior this year), flight planning, and a little fun here and there. No excuses, just being honest here- obtaining the instrument rating is hard as hell and you really have to dive into it without distraction to give it the learning and the attention that it deserves. Obtaining the instrument has been such an ego-checking roller coaster ride of hard work- but what I have come to learn is that if you just commit to increasing your understanding of what you are striving towards by 1-5% per day, things come together quite quickly. Learning to spend time each day with each of my goals, giving undivided attention is a good way to climb the mountain, steady and strong.

Give me six hours to chop down a tree, and I will spend the first four hours sharpening the axe. -Abraham Lincoln

So what is next? It is time to take things to the next level. What I have realized over the past year is that personal adventure is great, but leading by example and encouraging others to rock their own lives is the most amazing aspect of the whole big, long, process. I am now officially in the beginning phase of setting up a Denver based foundation that will get young women flying. We are about to have a whole lot of fun, mentoring one another, flying around this big beautiful world, while learning about ourselves in the process. Eeeeeeee I get so enthused just thinking about it that I instantly sit up straighter, toes start tapping, these are good signs that the energy to pull this off is right on track. Much more detail about the foundation will be coming soon!

So this turned out to be a little but more of an update post than anything else, but the main idea I keep coming back to popped up in the first paragraph…

Live it up and lean into what you love

Encourage your crazy, out there goals by loving them with all of yourself. To the ones who tell you it can’t be done, let them waste their breath. While they are telling you it can’t be done, you’ll be doing it. Wow, it feels awesome to write that down! Only give meaning to the encouraging, healthy, upbeat people in your life. Be a radiant source of those great feelings for the ones who need it the most. Big sigh… here is a good one to call it a night with…

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.” Dr. Seuss

Here’s to falling in love with your adventure and to cheering others on as they dive into theirs.

12 thoughts on “Live it up and lean into what you love

  1. It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; because there is not effort without error and shortcomings; but who does actually strive to do the deed; who knows the great enthusiasm, the great devotion, who spends himself in a worthy cause, who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement and who at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly. So that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.
    –Theodore Roosevelt

  2. Amelia – – my Wife & I love to see what you bring to the news day-in & day-out. You are quite the remarkable person & such a positive role-model for Young Ladies EVERYWHERE. Keep helping the little ones grow, they need a positive influence such as yourself.

    My Grandpa taught me about & started my curiosity of everything Science, Space & Flight in general. I’m a bit envious but have so much admiration of you. It’d be nice to give you a thumb in the air – – if you ever get to take off (or land) from Buckley, A.F.B.!

    Be SAFE, Be WELL & PEACE To ALL! -Lone Wolf (Aurora, CO)

  3. I don’t know who said it, but most people do not achieve more because they do not attempt more. Any achievement is made by, as you put it, leaning into it and not shying away. As you talk about doing the 1-5% extra everyday to achieve your goal, it reminds me of the message in The Slight Edge where people succeed or fail by doing or not doing that “one simple thing” over and over AND over without any noticeable progress. It is that easy and available to everyone, but it is just as easy to NOT do the thing and the path that 95% of people choose to take. Thanks for your blog. 🙂

  4. Once again………written from your heart, and, as always, very inspirational. I HAD, been wondering if I’d missed updated blogs, since it had been awhile since your last. But I too, can appreciate your explanation of not intending to simply fill space, and write to just be…..writing.

    I think it’s very important and always more meaningful when you pour words into print when you are especially moved, or motivated. Those moments….the passion that exudes from each sentence….those are always the most powerfully communicated. You have always succeeded at reaping those passionate moments and expressed yourself wonderfully.

    This latest post, is equally provocative and moving. Your dreams of your intercontinental flight are very clearly….no longer just “dreams.” Your flight plan has been charted and your journey is being mapped with great preparation. You aren’t just prepping and planning. You’re “leaning into” a world of opportunity ARE, and you’re creating more opportunities the further you lean……opportunities you will most certainly continue to achieve!

  5. I too am working on my IFR training and feel the urge to allow other priorities to step on my training. It’s at times that I fill overwhelmed by all my activities that I realize I need to check items off my list rather than continue to add and never complete any. Let’s face it, the book work isn’t the fun part of the training. It’s easy to push it off. So rather than let it hang around and let life get in the way, I’m committed to taking it head on and get it done. Then it’s just fly the airplane.
    Glad to see an update and your flight planning is moving forward. Exciting!

  6. Great post. Always enjoy your blog, energy & spirit. Disappointed that you are considering an organization for only young women. Why not an organization to promote all young people in flying? “People ask me what it’s like to be a female pilot. I don’t know. I don’t fly with my genitalia. I fly with my brain and my hands. – Patty Wagstaff” Super attitude. That’s the right stuff!!

    • Agree with you that there is a need to reach out to both men and women in the aviation community. Yet, if Amelia’s heart, mind, and energy are inclined to women in aviation, then I believe she is doing the right thing in focusing on that group.

  7. … look at the attrition rate of pilots in General Aviation today. Is it right or does it make any sense to say to boys or young men, “Sorry this organization is not going to help you because you are male.”?

  8. Amelia – this is my favorite post so far! I love the quotes you cite, but even more, I love the ones of your own! “Lean into what you love” works on so many levels : Business, Hobbies, Family, Goals – personal and otherwise! You will rock the test because it’s meant to be! I recently rached a long time goal to be an Architect that involved taking 12 – 3 plus hour exams over the course of a 19 year career in which life and my own “flow” took it’s sweet time. But I made it when it was right for me and you will too! I hope for you it is sooner than later, because I have a feeling your next goal will lead yo to even better things and that means better things ofr us to read about 🙂 Keep up the great work iin all aspects of yur life and thanks for sharing so much of it with us!

  9. Exciting news about your local foundation to inspire and support future pilots. Good luck diving into the final phases of your IFR work!

  10. Hi Amelia! My name is Jennifer Winning and I am just finishing up my last few days as Business Relations Manager of a charter company based at Centennial. I am on the CABA membership committee and you don’t know how many times I have heard, “You should meet Amelia, I think you guys would really like each other”. I stumbled across your blog and it echos my own thoughts! I too have been struggling to get that instrument rating done and kick myself at how I have dragged it out! We’ll get there 😉 Additionally, I am moving and starting my own aircraft charter broker company which I am excited, scared, and nervous about all at the same time! I loved your last paragraph and it’s nice to know there are other woman in aviation that have the same ambitions but also the same anxious feelings toward it all! Keep it up lady and I look forward to seeing all the great things you will accomplish which just add dimension to all the things you already have!

Leave a Reply

